is considered, a background paper is prepared by the national historic parks and sites branch research staff. The board then determines the significance of the site and makes its recommendation to the minister. If approved, a development plan is prepared.

The national historic parks and sites branch has been instrumental in the creation of 80 national historic parks and major sites, over 53 operational, and in the commemoration with plaques of more than 700 persons and events of national (as opposed to local or regional) significance. Negotiations are conducted with provinces for acquiring other sites. The department has entered into 40 cost-sharing agreements with provincial and municipal governments and with incorporated non-profit societies for acquisition and restoration of architecturally or historically significant buildings and structures on the understanding that the other party will pay the balance of the acquisition and restoration costs and will maintain the buildings in perpetuity. A number of monuments are maintained by the national historic parks and sites branch.

From April 1, 1976 to March 31, 1977 there were 4.5 million visits to Canada's national historic parks and sites. Details on location and characteristics of national

historic parks and sites may be obtained from Parks Canada.

The Canadian inventory of historic building begun in 1970 is a computerized program to survey, analyze and categorize old buildings. Exteriors of more than 165,000 buildings have been surveyed and almost all have been indexed; interiors of approximately 1,800 of these structures have been surveyed.

Heritage Canada is an independent corporation concerned with conservation of buildings, sites and natural and scenic areas. It received an initial federal capital endowment of \$12 million in 1972 and the interest on this fund is used to further its work. Heritage Canada enlists the support of the general public and of foundations and corporations.

National parks. Canada's national parks system, encompassing more than 129 499 square kilometres, is the largest and most rapidly expanding in the world. It has grown from the federal government's efforts, with co-operation of provincial and territorial governments, to preserve natural areas of scenic and biological interest for the public.

In 1885 the Canadian government reserved from private ownership the mineral hot springs of Sulphur Mountain in what is now Banff National Park. Two years later this 26 km² reserve was extended to 673 km² and named Rocky Mountain Park, the first federal park in Canada. Two land reserves in southern British Columbia — Yoho and Glacier — were made by the federal government in 1886, a reserve of 140 km² in the Waterton Lakes area of southern Alberta in 1895, and an area of 12 950 km² around Jasper, Alta., in 1907. These four western mountain reserves, together with Rocky Mountain Park, formed the nucleus of the national park system after the Dominion Forest Reserves and Parks Act was passed in May 1911. A national parks branch was created to protect, administer and develop the parks.

By 1930 there were nine more national parks. Three in Ontario consisted of federal Crown land or land held in trust for Indians: St. Lawrence Islands National Park, Point Pelee National Park and Georgian Bay Islands National Park. Prince Albert National Park in Saskatchewan and Riding Mountain National Park in Manitoba were former federal forest reserves. Elk Island National Park near Edmonton was established as a preserve for buffalo and Wood Buffalo National Park, a 44 807 km² area straddling the Alberta-Northwest Territories border, as a refuge for the largest surviving herd of buffalo in North America. In British Columbia two scenic areas were preserved — Mount Revelstoke National Park and Kootenay National Park.

Between 1930 and 1973 the following new parks were added: Northwest Territories: Nahanni and Auyuittuq; Yukon Territory: Kluane; British Columbia: Pacific Rim; Ontario: Pukaskwa; Quebec: La Mauricie and Forillon; New Brunswick: Kouchibouguac and Fundy; Nova Scotia: Cape Breton Highlands and Kejimkujik; Prince Edward Island: Prince Edward Island National Park; Newfoundland: Terra Nova and Gros Morne.

For parks in the Yukon Territory and Northwest Territories, lands have been reserved from all alternative disposition by orders-in-council and proclamation. Within provinces, land is acquired by the province acting within a federal-provincial agreement